Skip to main content

What Is IRA-Eligible Gold?


You can only invest in IRAs that contain gold or precious metals subject to some restrictions Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 set these restrictions, which are governed by the IRS.

 There are four types of metals that can be used in IRAs as investments:





In addition, the IRS does not permit the inclusion of ingots, coins, bars, or rounds of these precious metals.

 Essentially, the IRS wants to ensure people use investments that are traded easily, so the IRS requires people to use investment-grade products only.

This helps the IRS ensure that the value of precious metals remains stable for a long time. The following standards must also be met by precious metals:

Gold must be at least 99.5% pure.

Silver must be at least 99.9% pure.

Platinum and Palladium must be at least 99.95% pure.